Archinect
anchor

Bachelors of Science Architectural Engineering Technology

admeierer

So I am 22 and have wanted to post this here for a while but expect to get some backlash for it. I graduated recently with an Architectural Engineering Technology degree. I chose this program rather than a straight architecture program because I wanted to learn about all aspects of design build and construction, not just design. The focus of my program was Architecture but took many structural classes construction documents, and MEP along the way. I want to be a part of the building industry in some way I am positive. I like all aspects of it, designing, documenting, drafting/rendering, structural analysis, and so on. So now I want a job using what I have learned but I know being an Architect is usually hard to make a living doing and a slow ladder to climb. I want to start working in a job that will eventually land me in the 100,000 dollar plus salary column at some point in the future. I want to work now and maybe go back to school at some point if necessary but not yet. Its not that I am lacking a passion, but more that I haven't narrowed it down enough to say, alright THIS is what I need to go to back school for (I would prefer not to have to pay for more school at all). So I was hoping I could get some sort of very entry level position that would expose me to a lot of different things. Anyway I'm looking for some advice on what I should go look for and If you have any thoughts, what should I aim for with a good chance of making a salary of my desire before I'm 40-50.. I have been interviewing mostly for architecture/drafting positions in the Boston area (CBT, ADD inc, C^3 for a general) for months now with no luck / lack of work needed by them.

I know it sounds kind of cynical, but my goal is to work hard in the building industry and be able to support a family in the way I envision. 

Dec 27, 13 3:34 pm
curtkram