Archinect
anchor

Feeling lost professionally...

carhound

I've been working steadily since the middle of 2006 after graduating school.  Spent 22 months at my first firm, almost 5 years at the second, and am closing 9 months at my third.  Each move has been voluntary and on my own terms.  

I'm starting to feel bored and uninterested with architecture I'm currently doing.  I left firm #2 on good terms and they all told me to keep in touch and that they would like to have me come back.  I left there for lots of reasons: I felt I was not very well developed while I was there (and my concerns about lack of developments seemed to fall on deaf ears), a project manager did a real number on my confidence (it's low to begin with so it's been incredibly hard climbing out of that hole), and the commute from Chicago suburbs to chicago loop was starting to wear on me.  

All that said, I keep finding myself wanting to go back and work on the things that I worked on there.  Niche institutional healthcare firm.  I thought the work was interesting, the deadlines fair, the pay good.

My bigger concern is I'm starting to wonder if I've plateaued in skill and ability to grow professionally.  I don't know why I feel this way, I just do.  It's a hard feeling to shake, and I find it eats at me as my adult responsibilities grow.  I find myself worrying more and more about making serious mistakes as my responsibilities grow.

Is this a common way to feel?

Nov 4, 13 7:55 pm

Are you registered? 

It's not uncommon for the work to feel repetitive sometimes.  Focusing on getting licensed might help you feel you're continuing to move up.

Nov 4, 13 8:39 pm  · 
 · 
carhound