Archinect
anchor

Layoffs....layoffs......

Hasselhoff

Yeah. Haha I was talking about for seasonal retail. I've had a few architecture interviews since being home. But they all fell through as far as project funding. I'm starting to consider related fields for now. I'm not even applying to a bunch of Gherys, Hadids and Fosters. Just like...architecture firms in cities. Sucks.

Nov 5, 08 4:09 pm  · 
 · 
R.12:6-8

Alright, so I'm in my third year in a 5-year program.
What are the chances the economy will level by May 2011?
Should I look into grad school now or later?
Should I look into joining the Peace Corps?

Nov 5, 08 4:17 pm  · 
 · 
iamus

Having had the pleasure of looking for my first job in 96 when firms were still reluctant to hire let alone pay you a decent wage, I've positioned myself at firms that have a mix of project types they do. Most of these have been small (2-5 person firm) to medium size (30 person) firms. Working through three recessions since I graduated I can say that these downturns separate the wheat from the chafe. I put off grad school during those times because I was busy supporting myself. It wasn't until 2004/5 that I went back to grad school for my own personal reasons.

The advice I can say to those 20-somethings just getting out of school and getting that first real job and are now thinking they're looking at bread lines need to take a deep breath.

This is the time to learn how to market your skills and evaluate not only what types of work you want to explore but also how best to go after it.

Some have suggested looking at firms that focus on institutional, government, health care, higher ed, education. Definitely focusing on firms that do a diverse type of work can benefit you in the long run and the long term work tends to be more "recession proof" than commercial, retail, or residential.