Archinect
anchor

Architect Salary in Chicago

ansat

Hello!

I have a job interview lined up with a medium sized firm in Chicago. I just graduated with an M.Arch degree and have one year of previous work experience. 

Does anybody have an idea of how much salary I can ask/expect at this point?

Thanks in advance!

Jun 23, 13 7:03 pm
OneLostArchitect

I would say 48k sounds like a starting point. 

Jun 23, 13 7:14 pm  · 
 · 
le bossman

I work for a somewhat prominent residential architect in Chicago, I have about 7 or 8 years of experience depending on where you draw the line; I make 47k with no benefits.  

Jun 23, 13 8:04 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

35k-42k, Chicago can be rough. 

http://salaries.archinect.com/

Jun 23, 13 9:16 pm  · 
 · 

ansat did you get the job?

Aug 10, 13 1:41 pm  · 
 · 
Benjamin_
Yikes! I've been thinking about moving to Chi-town. How the heck do you live there on 45K a year?
Aug 10, 13 9:54 pm  · 
 · 

Benjamin, Chicago is different from New York and San Francisco because geography and zoning have not overly constrained the housing market.

You can find a huge range in rent and property values within the city and close to transit.  Many neighborhoods like the one I lived in Avondale are safe clean and well-connected transit wise, they just don't have as many trendy bars or Starbucks. A 2 bedroom with off street parking vintage apartment, wood floors over 15 windows and a landscaped back yard can run from 800-1000 a month in that neighborhood go three El stops toward the loop same housing stock and you pay 2,500-4,000 a month.