Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Medium for Interviews

flwrs

I'm a young student scheduled to interview in-person for an architectural internship position in a few weeks after only ever interviewing virtually. I would appreciate advice regarding the medium of the portfolio (keep it virtual? print through a service? stapled, booklet, or binder? size and finish? number of copies? is there a professional standard at all?). 

What is your approach to presenting your portfolio, and if you are an employer, what do you like to see interviewees bring to the meeting? Thanks in advance. 

Apr 9, 24 2:32 am
The_Crow

Sending in a pdf is the best option. I think too many people impress the size limit. Just share a Dropbox link and they can download. 

In person you could bring an ipad with a pdf on it, but honestly a printed portfolio goes very far. 

I'm sure many who respond will disagree, but this is just my personal experience/opinion as a mid level architect. 

Apr 9, 24 8:56 am  · 
2  · 
natematt

I would just add one caveat on this. If the size limit is reasonable, then meet the size limit.

If someone sends me a link with a 300mb portfolio in it I’m going to consider that poor judgement and a skill issue regardless of what we require. You should be able to drop a portfolio down to 20mb easily. If a firm is asking for 5mb…. Then maybe break the rules.

Apr 9, 24 6:58 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Obligatory warning:  If you're applying to an unpaid internship, run away immediately.