Archinect
anchor

Transitioning to City Job?

real_lacquer

Hi all, trying to get a feel for possibly transitioning out of architecture into plan review checking? I am a designer with <5 years of experience at the job that I got right after graduating college. I've enjoyed my job and what I've learned from it, but I think it might be time to leave due to increasing difficulty to handle anxiety from the job ( I understand this is a me problem) and how my current work environment is (lots of internal lay offs, and current job market isn't good enough to leave to a different position at the moment). I am thinking about trying to find a more stable position, albeit more boring, but still relative to what I've learned about the built environment through permit checking / code analysis. Is this a feasible career transition? I understand that it's boring and working for the city has its own drawbacks, but I am trying to do what's important for my health overall. Any advice would be appreciated.

Apr 2, 24 9:13 pm
value engineer

I made a similar switch to acting as a City Engineer. Major pros and cons, but less stress is a huge pro. I am very happy working public. See list starting with Pro: 

• Soft deadlines unless working on a grant project. 
  • Higher Pay and many many days off :) 
  • Freedom to work on a wide variety of City projects, initiative, teams
  • Ability to manage consultants to do grunt work that you no longer prefer 
  • Ability to set design codes
  • Ability to see projects and programs out long term. How to residents use something.

Cons:

• If your supervisor is bad or will not retire, you will never move up
  • Small wage increases
  • Technical staff on the whole are not as … technical. They excel more at PMing. This is okay if you have a license/PE, but will hinder you early in your career.
  • Development review can get boring. YOU must have others to train at some point to do work (even student interns).