Archinect
anchor

Information about '' Being an architect in California ''

architectalina

Hi guys,

I am an architect and I have received a job offer from Souther California starting this summer, and I am currently thinking about it. There are some questions that I would like to ask and learn from people who have previously worked as architects in California or are still working as architects in California.( especially using Revit as a pro )

How to draw at Revit in California?

I have California Building Code books. What parts should I pay attention to in this book? Which pages and sections  are about  the education building code located? Which one of these codes have to definitely know  ?  How can I learn everything about the education building code ?

What types of walls do you use in Revit? I know it varies by project, but I want to know everything about your project drawing rules in Revit.

Do you using Revit's family or creating your own family template ? 

What is it southern California materials and methods of construction  ?

To put it simply , I want to learn  the architectural system in America (plan, wall, roof drawings, etc.),  building code rules and requirements , methods of construction and how to  preparing construction documents in California etc.I've worked as a remote before, but I've never used building codes, so I'd like to get information in terms of assessing the situation.

I would love to meet a lot of people and get opinions from all of you. I'd like to thank everyone who wanted to answer my questions in advance.

Mar 1, 24 1:39 pm
natematt

This is an impossibly broad question to answer. I shouldn’t even try…

You draw Revit like everywhere else in the US.

The materials and methods of construction are similar to everywhere else in the US… (little bit of specificity based on the seismic requirements, climates, and sustainability)