Archinect
anchor

Architecture to Urban Planning? Any experience?

BIMmargera

Hi there,

Does anyone have experience transferring from architecture (after working for some time) into urban planning?

A bit about my situation:

I'm a licensed architect working with a firm that does strictly high-end single-family residential. I've been in this sector for about 5 years since obtaining an MArch. I initially became interested in architecture through my undergraduate Urban Studies degree. Turns out, architectural practice has not brought me close to any of the social dimensions of architecture and the piece-within-a-whole-vision that so interests me in buildings. How they shape culture, society, etc. 

I've got an offer to start with LA Planning as a planning assistant for $72.5k (as opposed to my current $86k). I'm less scared about the money/lifestyle change and mostly terrified of "throwing away" all the time I've put into architecture - even if it doesn't bring me joy. I'm also really concerned that I'll get to planning and just be totally bored with the work. It should be said I don't love design anyhow, or have any strong opinions on aesthetics (I know, weird path). Another complicating factor is that I'm project managing my first building and will hopefully be able to see a project go into construction within ~1.5-2 years if I stick around. 

Any recommendations? Truly lost right now, but in order to take the planning position - which are hard to come by - I would have to decide rather soon.

Feb 18, 24 2:02 am
ccsr

Uncanny! I (also an Urban Studies undergrad) am trying to move the opposite way, finished MArch 5 yrs ago, worked as a planner in a large US city, now looking for my first proper arch firm job to get some construction experience.