Archinect
anchor

fake concrete walls

vitavandenbergh

Hi 

I am studying interior architecture and have to make a maquette with walls that look like concrete walls. I do use cardboard so can't apply wet substances on this. Does anyone have any tips with what I can make these "concrete walls" with. 

Thanks in advance 
vita

Dec 28, 23 11:37 am
natematt

Odd question. Obviously don’t use cardboard for this… That’s got kind of limited application in quality modeling anyway. If you’re going for realistic models It’s not great, if you’re going for abstract materiality, also not great.

Depending on the scale, you could actually pour some quikrete model walls. You could also use something on basswood, for best results you may need to experiment.  You may be able to use a concrete or plaster material on it to get it to look right, or you may just add some grit into some acrylic paint honestly. 

Dec 28, 23 12:23 pm  · 
1  · 
deltar

I'd add rockite into the mix. You can pour small scale features that are high-strength. I've tried using proper concrete for scale models and it usually turned out poorly unless it was a larger scale feature.

Dec 28, 23 1:59 pm  · 
 · 
natematt

oh shoot. that's actually what i meant, not quickcrete. Though you can do quickcrete too, but it's harder to do. Rockite is what all the cool kids were doing back in my day.

Dec 29, 23 1:45 am  · 
1  · 
Non Sequitur

interior architecture? For Sean Connery s sake, just call it what it is. 

For your wall, if you can’t use the real stuff, mix sand and glue together and apply it to plywood. 

Dec 28, 23 12:28 pm  · 
1  ·  1
natematt

Don’t be a dick. Interior architecture has been a typical degree title for at least 15 years.

Dec 28, 23 12:54 pm  · 
2  ·  2
Non Sequitur

It is not. It’s a weak attempt at borrowing proper architecture for int des marketing. It’s note certainly not a recognized profession in my area.

Dec 28, 23 1:07 pm  · 
2  ·  2
natematt