Archinect
anchor

Job market woes. Are things slowing down?

Archicore

Hey everyone!

I got laid off about a month ago now. I live in a major US city on the west coast, and I'm having real troubles finding a new job.

I've sent off about 30 applications now, and have received effectively no response from anyone. I recognize a certain amount of ghosting is to be expected, but I've never had it this bad before.

I have about 6 years of experience in a variety of commercial project types, and tons of Revit experience. I think the biggest red flags I have are a subpar Portfolio (graphic design was never a strong suite of mine) and I've done quite a bit of firm skipping (never worked anywhere more than 2 years). This is especially frustrating as I'm sprinting towards my license ASAP, and only need a couple more months of hours before I can take the tests. That requires a job though!

Seems to me right now that everyone is very cautious. From talking to my contacts, work still seems to be coming in, but it's slowed, and everyone is still expecting some huge recession and a wave of layoffs.

Is there still work out there? Does it seem like firms are still hiring? Am I just in a really weird place with 6 years of experience and no license? Does a graphically subpar portfolio really kill an application? Anything I can do without a job/license to really boost my prospects?

Just trying to get my finger on the pulse.

Jun 23, 23 10:51 pm
sansoon