Archinect
anchor

Internship Pay

stvn_ktz

I am aware several threads exist on this topic, however I want a direct response to my situation. I am a recent grad and just took an internship offer with a great firm located in Los Angeles. It's a stipend pay of $1200/ month working 50 hours/ week. That equates to around 6 something an hour. Is this standard pay for someone with little work experience? I am doing ACAD, 3D work in Rhino, Photoshop and Illustrator work. All of the latest programs with a competitive portfolio. I am certain this place will lead me to bigger places and plan to but for now how long should I work for $1200/month? 

Thanks

Nov 2, 13 10:43 pm
gruen
I would say, stop working there just before you starve. That's very low pay. Stipend my ass.
Nov 2, 13 11:30 pm  · 
 · 
natematt

Seems like most stipends are closer to 500/month...

That said... you are getting paid less than minimum wage...

.... From my research/experience, the typical intern/junior/entry-level architect with a full-time permanent position and 0-3 years experience makes between 30-40k a year with a non-professional degree and 35-50k with a professional degree... as opposed to the 14400 you will make.

Nov 2, 13 11:40 pm  · 
 · 
backbay

wow, i got paid more taking frozen pizza crusts out of the freezer, opening a can of sauce and a bag of pre-grated cheese, assembling it, putting it in the oven for 5 minutes, and ringing it into the register.

i got paid less than 30k for a few months as a contract worker but then they hired me... its tempting because its that whole "i need experience" thing and the "well, at least i'll have my foot in the door" thing.  just don't stick around too long... start looking for a better job now.  

Nov 3, 13 12:39 am  · 
 · 
stvn_ktz