Archinect
anchor

preparation time for gre and its significance

kadam-patil

hello friends scheduled my gre on 22 oct ,got 308 in diagnostic test and is aiming for       315 -320 ,friends wil my less gre stanch me from getting in a good university.my main nightmare is verbal ,i think i can get at least 168 in math.

need help for verbal and its preparation

Aug 12, 13 12:12 am
poop876

Aren't you glad spelling or proper grammar isn't part of it?

Aug 12, 13 10:34 am  · 
 · 
kadam-patil

i wrote this in hurry ,ya i  m really glad for not having proper grammar and spelling,at the end of the day i m not interested  in critical writing so even wrong grammar will never affect me 

Aug 12, 13 10:55 am  · 
 · 
citizen

Practice, practice, practice: take as many mock/ sample exams as you can.  That's a good way to prepare.

Aug 12, 13 12:15 pm  · 
 · 

I would really only focus on learning vocab. I studied my but off for math and it was of no real use. A pratice exam or two so you can get familiar with the math is about all you need. As long as you don't bomb the GRE you'll be fine unless it's a top tier university. Schools are more intersted in portfolio.

Aug 12, 13 12:25 pm  · 
 · 
allenmd07

Would a 151 V, 155 Q, and 4.5 AW be considered bombing? I've taken the test twice and to my frustration these are the best scores I've had so far. I freeze up when I see that clock ticking down.

I figure three times the charm, and if I don't improve that much at least they might say, "he took the test three times, he obviously cared enough to trying but maybe hes not good at standardized tests."

I'm not looking to get into ivy league schools, but solid regional schools hopefully with some money attached.

Aug 12, 13 12:38 pm  · 
 · 
Quentin

I got into grad school with a 152, 152, 4.5. My verb/math scores were dead average.

Aug 12, 13 2:03 pm  · 
 · 
kadam-patil