Archinect
anchor

What goes on in an architecture job interview?

tomatomato

I'm a graduate student who's about to start preparing to find a job and am a little nervous on how to prepare for interviews.

I've looked for interview tips online, but mainly found them to be for interview etiquette tips and questions which might not be same for an architecture interview.

How long do the interviews normally go on for?

How important are showing and presenting portfolio's during the interview? What do they actually look for when you show them? I would guess perhaps looking for appealing finalized images/renders and final outcome as they are probably hiring you for your technical skills first?

Just how detailed (how long) do you explain each project?Do they care about your thought process behind projects? Telling about the process I would think would bore them and they would want to rush to see the end product instead. The problem is, my thesis is like an urban scale project, needing to explain a lot of the site context/background and also various design stages to understand the whole project, and the 'final shots' of the project can't really show much of it. Is it wise to perhaps spend 2-3 minutes to explain my thesis project?  

and how many projects should you present to them?

Jun 30, 13 3:45 am
( o Y o )'s comment has been hidden
( o Y o )

Be sure to wear a push-up bra. 

Jun 30, 13 8:48 am  · 
 · 
backbay

recently at my office:  "they look too high maintenance", "i dont' think their personality's a match for our firm", "they seemed more outgoing on their resume", and "their portfolio sucks but i like them the most and they have strong technical skills."