Archinect
anchor

Workstation: laptop only or desktop+laptop for grad school?

rrnkenshin

Hi all,

I'm an incoming graduate student at USC this fall and I'm considering options for a workstation: -should I get a really powerful workstation laptop that can do everything from 3D modelling to rendering?

-or should I get a so-so gaming laptop just for 3D modelling + a powerful desktop for other hard-load tasks?

Thank you in advance for your ideas!

May 19, 13 9:53 am
LITS4FormZ
Go all out on the desktop, then take a look at mid-level laptops for photoshop, conceptual massing, etc.

Gaming laptops are obsolete in two years, your desktop can be upgraded as needed.
May 19, 13 11:47 am  · 
 · 
rrnkenshin

My only concern in case of the "all out on the desktop" option is that I've heard that working in studios is much better than working in our private room, as this is the place for many potential interesting academic discussion. And while we spend more time in studios than at home, we also work more on the laptop than the desktop, isn't it?

May 19, 13 11:54 am  · 
 · 
0super2

I went the "powerful laptop" route when I was in school. A few months after buying it, a new model came out that was a bit better. I still use the same laptop to this day--it is far from outdated since I upgraded at purchase--but LITS4's comment is to be taken seriously. While I did envy the power of a desktop, portability is amazing. I worked in studio a lot early on and then gradually more at home and in the library. Speaking for myself, I wouldn't want to be transferring files back and forth or deal with two machines. Even when my battery was depleted and I had to plug it in 100% of the time (almost two years), I still enjoyed bringing it with me everywhere and even laying on the floor with it while doing yoga. 

May 19, 13 12:57 pm  · 
 · 
rrnkenshin

Hi tiorted,