Archinect
anchor

M. Arch 1 (3+ year) - more questions / looking back

observant

I have a couple of questions for those who have done a M. Arch 1 (3+ year) and/or are familiar with the dynamics of that route into architecture.  I hold such a degree.

How many M.Archs. (3+ year variety) are released into "the market" each year, compared to 4 years, 5 years and M.Arch. 2s?  Is there are study, or are there stats, on the profession's retention of these grads?  In total, it has to be a rather small number.

Here's why I'm asking.  In the handful of employers I've had since graduation, I have been the ONLY M.Arch. 1 employed in any of these places - mostly, they've been B.Archs., followed by M.Arch. 2s.

Also, I graduated in a class of about 19 people, after losing 3 people.  About half of those people never even went into architecture ... or an allied field.  Some returned to their previous occupations or did completely different things. Only about 7 have licensed as architects, and not all of them work in the traditional role of architect (some are doing other kinds of consulting and one is in educational administration).  From what I saw, the people who went on to work in architecture fared better in NYC, Boston, San Francisco, and Chicago.  My thought is that markets closer to Ivy schools (where that is a popular educational route into the field) are more receptive to these graduates.  They aren't as likely to be seen as often in secondary markets.  Am I right or wrong?  Do you have any insight into the markets these grads tend to "score" in?

I have seen a cavalier attitude toward the M.Arch. 1 but, again, that was a function of there being no others in the firms I personally know of.  In your firm or your previous employers, have you seen them to a noticeable extent and did they hang on?