Archinect
anchor

Any recent career changes? advice?

DaveZ

So I graduated two years ago from a top ranked school with a BS in arch. After graduation, I spent 6 months.   After countless hours of searching, I landed a job at a medium sized firm in Chicago doing prototypical work for large chains.  It has been soul crushing to say the least. countless unpaid overtime hours sitting in front of a computer (line, trim, line trim).  Little to know mental stimulation and no signs of any opportunity for professional growth.  After a year and a half of this torture, of pushing myself forward based on some stupid notion beat into our brains that "we are meant to be architects" I m calling it quits.  I m 23 and I m enrolling at a local college here in Chicago to finish up my premed recs.  I was considering going into something along the lines of construction project management or real estate development, but unfortunately those fields are not much better than architecture.  I want job security, to help people, to use my brain, and to be taken seriously as a professional.  Architecture does none of that for me.  Not to mention that it would take me just as long to become an MD as a RA (5 more years).  But none the less this has been a stressful decision, any one pull anything similar lately? Advise?  

Apr 7, 13 9:50 am

Job security? Join the military.

Help people? Join the Peace Corp.

Use your brain? That's up to you.

Be taken seriously as a professional? Be serious about whatever it is you do.

Sounds like you don't have passion for either architecture or medicene. And if you really want to help people you may find medicene more soul-crushing than architecture. At least traditional western medecine.

Apr 7, 13 10:06 am  · 
 · 
boy in a well

I spent six months once. Best time of my life. I love architecture. Love it more when some folk leave.

Apr 7, 13 10:27 am  · 
 · 
observant

@DaveZ