Archinect
anchor

What programs do you use at work?

Nki-

Hi everyone,

Pretty much, what the title says. Comments would be really appreciated!

After enjoying a lengthy discussion triggered by everydayinterns "Want the be an Architect? Don't learn Revit" blog post, it made me wonder what programs/software do you guys (working architects) really use at work? I probably sound extremely clueless and I am prepared/bracing myself to look silly once this post goes live - I am a student completing a Masters in Architecture, and it's rare for students (at least, at my Uni) not to have a high proficiency in Revit and to use it for most project work. Judging by the comments in everydayinterns post however, it seems that not all working architects/firms are using it (for various reasons).

I thought Revit (combined with AutoCAD) was the prominent tool in most firms... I am obvioulsy missing something here. So .. what are you using?

Feb 16, 13 1:22 am
toasteroven

minecraft

Feb 16, 13 1:26 am  · 
1  · 
toasteroven

seriously, though - revit, autocad, sketchup, 3dsmax, rhino, adobe, office, etc... etc...

Feb 16, 13 1:33 am  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

Sketchup / Rhino, Vectorworks, Autocad Architecture, and soon, Revit. Really, it doesn't matter. You won't want to work for any place that cares about this stuff beyond seeing them each as tools. Whether a flashing detail works or not (or is beautiful or not) has absolutely nothing to do with which software it's drawn in.

also, I didn't learn any software in school (graduated in 2011) so don't stress unless you want to be the IT guy. There's more to architecture than the software involved. I see a lot of frustrated unemployed / underemployed folks bitching that they can't get a job because they think they're owed one due to knowing Revit or whatever. Once a certain baseline comfort with software is achieved, nobody worth working for is going to give a shit what specific programs you know.

Feb 16, 13 3:32 am  · 
 · 

autocad