Archinect
anchor

Compression and expansion (I don't understand my professor...)

ShanChan

Hi all,

I am in first year architecture and I recently got a project assignment having to do with compression and expansion.

We have to make two or three spaces using compression and expansion that lead to a viewing space (made to fit two or three people) that overlooks a "significant object" (which in this case is a 50 foot tree).

I made a few study models in which my expanded space (the viewing space overlooking the tree) was almost as tall as the tree, preceded by a much more compressed space to achieve a very dramatic transition between the spaces. 

However, my professor said that it was "too much." That's where I'm stumped. He didn't really give me any reason why my large space was too tall or why I should change it.

Can anyone come up with any ideas why my large space should be smaller? I understand that the space is supposed to be structured for two or three people, but if the goal is to create drama and emphasize the height of the tree, why should I make my space less tall?

Jan 21, 13 4:24 pm
boots cats

1: It could be that the height of the space was actually detracting from the visual impact of the tree itself.

II: It could also be that your professor wants to challenge you by throwing you curveballs - remember, the final product of school is not the buildings you design, it's the designer you become.

C: Maybe your professor just didn't like it. Sometimes that happens, and you'll typically be better off if you accept it as a challenging new design constraint. 

Good luck!

Jan 21, 13 6:03 pm  · 
 · 

Aesthetically speaking, the internal use adjacencies and circulation necessitates that urgent considerations be made of the anticipated degree of human ambiance.

On the other hand, the massing of major elements presents extremely synergistic challenges to the philosophy of commonality and standardization.

Required reading: On Bullshit, by Harry G. Frankfurt.