Archinect
anchor

name a price for doing a single rendering+design?

SC81

So I was recently approached by a colleague in my office who has a connection to a developer in Houston.  Apparently this developer is preparing some sort of proposal for a large 4 story residential/retail mixed use building and they need a pretty rendering to use in the proposal to spark interest.

I'm an intern in my office with a few years experience and I was approached because I've done some decent rendering and design work for the office.  This would be an "on the side" type of deal, though.  

I'm being asked to come up with a number for compensation for basically designing and rendering an interesting facade for this building and producing one high quality rendering.

Any thoughts on what would be a reasonable number?  Flat fee or hourly rate?   Thanks guys.

Dec 17, 12 9:53 am
drums please, Fab?

$3,000

Dec 17, 12 11:49 am  · 
 · 
zonker

Is this Pro Bono?

Dec 17, 12 12:02 pm  · 
 · 
SC81

X - nope, not pro bono.  

Thanks Frac - any thoughts on what you're basing that on?

Dec 17, 12 12:50 pm  · 
 · 
drums please, Fab?

modeling and rendering hours + design hours x hourly rate = $_,___.__

if you've done '... some decent rendering and design work for the office'  then you should know about how long it would take you to do what you're asked to do.

maybe take your current salary and multiply your hourly rate by 2 (i would say 3 to 3.5 but you're doing this on the side so low overhead).  but forget it, this dude's a developer, so screw him!  i revise my bid to $6,000

add some time in there for revisions, to.  you know the developer is going to want you to change this and that and re-render a couple of times.

and beware of scope creep.  don't give them additional views if you agree on only 1 view.

and send that view early, get them to approve the angle and what's included and all that etc. etc. etc.

Dec 17, 12 1:34 pm  · 
 · 
s=r*(theta)