Archinect
anchor

Graduate School Options with Unaccredited Architecture Degree

mkappen

Hello everyone,

I'm a third year architecture student, and Graduate School is slowly creeping towards me. I've been doing a bit of research regarding potential graduate programs I would be interesting in applying to next year. The majority of the programs I am interested in offer two options for completing the Master of Architecture (MArch) professional degree - M.Arch I and M.Arch II. The first option - M.Arch I - is a three year degree, while the second option - M.Arch II - is a two year degree. Now, in order to be accepted into a M.Arch II, prospective students must hold a bachelors of science in architecture, and this is where my questions begin.

The M.Arch II requires a pre-professional bachelors of science in architecture degree, but many of the schools do not specify whether or not the degree has to be from an accredited architecture program. Being that my BS in Architecture is not from an accredited program, this is a big concern for me. I read that an undergraduate degree received at an institution that is not accredited will most likely not be accepted for admission by an accredited graduate school, or the graduate school will require the student to take the 3 year M.Arch I option. For example, according to Ball State University's website. "Option 1 - the two year degree- is designed for students with undergraduate degrees in architecture from universities offering an accredited architecture program or its equivalent. 

(http://cms.bsu.edu/Academics/CollegesandDepartments/CAP/Programs/Architecture/Programs/Masters/MArch/DegreeOptions.aspx)