Archinect
anchor

The Bellevue-Stratford Hotel of Philadelphia

skailian90

Hello! How are you all doing? This is my very first time posting in the Archinect Forums so I hope my first thread is worth while! The title of my thread, if some do not know is in regards to a landmark in Center City, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The Bellevue-Stratford Hotel, now called the "Park Hyatt at the Bellevue."

When I first heard about this place, I really didn't know much about it. I remember my father telling me when he was younger and working at the PSFS Building in the city, that for the six years he worked there the company hosted a Christmas party annually in the Hotel's Grand Ballroom. When I first started classes at the Community College of Philadelphia, during my breaks and after the long day of hauling many art supplies to and fro Utrecht Arts Supplies and back to the train, and then to the school it was a numbing experience! But what I would do was explore the other parts of the city. I found that City Hall was a breath's walk from the school's complex and found it even more easier to navigate the city's many streets and avenues.

It was when I first saw this majestic, and very elegant building standing as if it reached the sky, with mansard roofs and beautiful terracotta facades with hundreds and hundreds of windows rising up and up, it was mesmerizing really it was! That was my first glance and sight of the Bellevue-Stratford Hotel.

Every day or so after the first sighting, I made it almost a tradition to go and see the building everyday at-least, after all my classes were finished.

The first time I went, I ventured inside not really knowing what to expect...