Archinect
anchor

Good Time to Get a Master's in Architecture?

mv1138

Okay, so the past few years I've been spinning my wheels, trying to figure out what to do with my life. I have a Master's in History and live in Michigan, one of the more economically depressed areas.  I'm willing to move but I can't unless I can get a job offer, which hasn't happened.  Anyway, I've always been interested in houses, and have toyed with the idea of trying to get into a master's program to become a licensed architect.  But all the news was about how it was the worst thing you could study because there were no jobs.  But I just glanced at O*Net's page and it says the field will grow by 15-21% (faster than average).  Which blows the 10-13% growth rate of most other areas I've looked into out of the water.

So...are the stats misleading, or have things turned around sufficiently that going for a Master's wouldn't doom me to a life of even more debt with no job prospects?

I've heard specializing helps, and I'd be interested in architectural historian work, if that's a viable path. I've seen quite a few postings for positions like that.  Also, does it matter where you get your degree? I know that in almost every field it matters a little, but even if I could get in somewhere like Michigan's Taubman College, I could never afford it.  Can the strength of one's work stand out above the school you attend?

Aug 28, 14 5:25 pm
geezertect

Remember, the 15-21% growth rate you cite is off a very depressed level.  There are a ton of currently un/underemployed architect types who have to be absorbed into the industry.  By that time, we will probably be in the middle of another economic collapse in the building industry.  Do your homework, but my advice is stay away.  It's just not an economically viable profession even in the good times.  Sorry for the pessimism.

Aug 28, 14 6:33 pm  · 
 · 
alexvillafuerte